Joint Statement from the Emergency Medicine Community on the Loss of Dr. Kevin Rodgers

November 27, 2017

Contact: Kay Whalen (
Executive Director
Phone: 800-884-2236

Milwaukee, WI – The following joint statement was released today by the American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM), the AAEM Resident and Student Association (AAEM/RSA), the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM), the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP), the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians (ACOEP), the Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors (CORD), and the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM).

The emergency medicine community would like to offer our heartfelt condolences to the family, friends, and colleagues of Dr. Kevin Rodgers.

Dr. Rodgers was a leader in our field, a great educator, and a strong advocate. He touched the lives of thousands of emergency medicine residents throughout his career in his roles as an educator and program director.

A graduate of the University of Virginia and the Physician Associate Program at Emory University, Dr. Rodgers completed medical school at the Medical College of Virginia and his Emergency Medicine residency at Brooke Army Medical Center in 1990. Kevin arrived at Indiana University in 1998 taking over as the Associate Program Director. At Brooke he served from 1990-1998 as the Pre-Hospital Care Director, the Assistant Program and Research Director, the Associate Program Director and Program Director. In 2002, Kevin and Carey Chisholm became the Co-Program Directors for the IU EM Residency and in 2013 he became the sole Program Director with Carey’s move to a Senior Educator slot. As Dr. Rodgers took on the role of president of AAEM, he transitioned into his most recent role as Program Director Emeritus.

Dr. Rodgers has been actively involved in many emergency medicine organizations. He served on the AAEM board of directors for 12 years as an at-large member, secretary-treasurer, vice president and most recently, as president. He has been an integral part of AAEM’s educational programs, serving as planning chair for the Annual Scientific Assembly, course director for the Oral Board Review Course, faculty for the Written Board Review course and textbook author. He was the recipient of the Written Board Top Speaker Award, the Joe Lex Educator of the Year Award, and the AAEM/RSA Program Director of the Year Award.

Dr. Rodgers was also an integral part of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM), serving faithfully on the Annual Meeting Program Committee for several years and as the chair of the Resident Leadership /Chief Resident Forum, which under his direction became the Resident Academic Leadership Forum (RALF). He was also a reviewer for the Academic Emergency Medicine journal.

We honor Dr. Rodgers’ legacy of service to the emergency medicine community as we remember his leadership and dedication. In a 2016 AAEM publication, Dr. Rodgers put it best when he said: “My mantra: ‘There is no greater calling than service to others.’”

President-Elect/Acting President, AAEM

Ashely Alker, MD MSc
President, AAEM/RSA

Terry Kowalenko, MD
President, ABEM

Paul D. Kivela, MD MBA FACEP
President, ACEP

Christine F. Giesa, DO FACOEP-D
President, ACOEP

Mike Epter, DO
President, CORD

D. Mark Courtney, MD
President, SAEM


The American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM) is the specialty society in emergency medicine today. As an organization, AAEM believes achievement of board certification represents the only acceptable method of
attaining recognition as a specialist in emergency medicine.

For more information, please visit or call 800-884-2236.